Cliff

She broke up with me. I didn’t know what was wrong or what went wrong to end up like this.

         What I just remembered were her last words:

        “It’s over. I’m tired… of you.”

        “Why?” I asked, almost in shock.

        “I don’t know. I just realized that I’m no longer in love with you.”

        Her words stung me hard.

        “Is that because of someone else?” I asked slowly, trying to understand why this was happening.

        “No,” she replied. “I have just grown tired of you.”

        ‘Grown tired of me? After I’ve given you everything? After all the sacrifices?’ I wanted to ask but I did not. I remained silent while my heart was breaking apart with her ruthless words.

        She stood up, gathering her things and headed for the door.

        “And don’t try finding me,” she said before she finally left.

        A part of tears dropped from my eyes upon watching her leave. I did not have the courage to stop her.

        After more than an hour after she left, I picked up the keys and headed for the car.

         I drove past the deserted highways, watching those lights coming from those buildings towering over me.

        I accelerated, as if challenging death.

        Then faster, faster… I crashed through the railings and I soared up in the sky…

        Then down the cliff, towering the solid rocks below…

       

Leave a Reply

